University Grants Commission (UGC) - Country Wide Class Room (CWCR)

As early as in 1984 University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi has launched Country Wide Class Room (CWCR) and production facilities at 6 universities in India through establishing media centres in the name of Audio Visual Research Centres (AVRCs) (AVRCS) (later these centres have been renamed as Educational Multimedia Research Centres (EMMRCS). read more..

Consortium for Educational Communication (CEC) is an Inter University Centre, established by University Grants Commission, on 26th May 1993, under section 12 (ccc) of its act of 1956. CEC is registered as a society and enjoys Central University Status. read more..

Governing members:

Prof. M. K. Surappa
Vice Chancellor
Anna University

Prof. Dr. L.Karunamoorthy
Anna University

Prof. Dr. B.Umamaheswari

Managed by:

Dr. B.Umamhaeswari, Director, Educational Multimedia Research Centre (EMMRC) at the top level and Mr. K.R. Surendran, and Mr. D. Vinoth Rajesh, Production Assistants, EMMRC, at the middle level as in charge. The station has office assistants, Mr. P. Suresh, Ms. S. Selvakumari and E. Nandhini who give technical and production support. Administrative and technical support is also rendered by the other staff members of EMMRC. Over 60 community volunteers are also involved in managing the station besides content creation.



Anna University is the first University to take up the idea of India's University Grants Commission (UGC) to start MSc (Electronic Media) Programmes. It offers a five-year integrated MSc programme and a two-year MSc programme in Electronic Media. The Department of Media Sciences was started in Janurary 2002, branching off from the UGC'S Educational Multimedia Research Centre (EMMRC).read more.