Anna University - School of Architecture And Planning
Home About Us HOD's Desk Faculty Facilities Program Research Academics Gallery SAPAA



About Us

Alumni Association of SAP (SAPAA)

The Department of Architecture comes under the School of Architecture and Planning, Anna University.


The School of Architecture and Planning, Anna University, one of the premier Institutions of the nation was initially established as a Department of Architecture of the University of Madras in the year 1957 and was located in the Alagappa College of Technology, offering a five year Bachelor Degree Course in Architecture with an intake of 20 seats. The Town and Country Planning PG Programme was started in the year 1964 to cater to needs of South India. The departments were later renamed as the School of Architecture and Planning, and shifted to be an independent campus in the year 1968. The School has heightened its aspiration to serve the society at large by establishing a higher degree course in Architecture namely M.Arch in 1986 and specialized courses namely - M.Arch(Digital) and M.Arch(Landscape) as self supporting courses from 2002. Besides, M.S. (by Research) and Ph.D. programmes are offered by the School since 1990's. B.Arch courses expanded the intake in recent years in order to offer quality architectural education to a wider number of students.

Currently Dr.Ranee Vedamuthu is the Dean, School of Architecture and Planning. The School now functions as two departments, Architecture and Planning. The Department of Architecture is headed by Dr. K.R.Sitalakshmi

The well-planned campus of the School provides ample space for administration, lecture halls and studios for both Architecture and Planning courses. There are seminar rooms, staff rooms, an extensive library, multi-purpose hall and student's common room (including separate ladies common room) and a hobby workshop. The School has advanced Computer and Networking facilities with an exclusive Computer Lab for UG and PG students The School library functions effectively with financial assistance from the University, Government of Tamil Nadu and the UGC, and the total collection of publications exceeds 13000.

The School’s strength lies in the highly qualified faculty. This adds to facilitation of interactive learning through design projects, student exchange programmes, student seminars, guest lectures etc. The wealth of data collected as part of the design and thesis has been well appreciated by the professionals and Government departments for their use. The School has produced many notable alumni spread across India and abroad. The School as a foremost institution in India serves as an institutional model in Architecture and Planning, where other schools in this region look up to our curricular and pedagogies for guidance.


The Department of Architecture is committed to excellence in the field of architectural education and the discipline of architecture through its pedagogical, research, extension and outreach activities, directed towards the betterment of the world that we inhabit, in all realms shaped by architecture. It shall uphold universal moral and ethical values in all endeavours that it undertakes and be exemplary in creating positive transformations.


The Mission of the Department of Architecture is:

  • To tap and strengthen the innate potential of each student and deepen their knowledge/skills in order to enable them to self-actualise as well as become catalysts for positive change.
  • To contribute to immediate context, larger society and the world through knowledge creation and dissemination.
  • To engage and extend the expertise of the department in addressing and solving of issues/problems related to the built environment.
  • To actively interact and collaborate with professionals, educational institutions and other related organisations at all scales in order to collectively further the cause of appropriate architecture.

Anna University - School of Architecture And Planning
Home        About Us     Faculty        Research         Academics          Contact Us
© 2008.Anna University. All Right Reserved